Electricity bill fail

Our electricity bills usually hover around the $200-$300 mark every two months, or around $1,500 per year.

  • October / November 2014: $233.80
  • December / January 2015: $176.00
  • February / March 2015: $207.55
  • April / May 2015: $227.25
  • June / July 2015: $355.55
  • August / September 2015: $301.90
  • October / November 2015: $214.50
  • December / January 2016: $219.20
  • February / March 2016: $218.90
  • April / May 2016: $293.95

We don’t use gas or any other form of energy, but even so I think that’s too high and it’s been something I’ve been meaning to address for a while. Not just for the financial implications, but the environmental impacts of energy use as well. Full disclosure – in a former life I was a sustainability manager and should know a thing or two about energy reduction. It’s ridiculous that I don’t practice at home what I advised businesses to do.

And then this happened:

untitled

Ouch! I actually yelped when I saw the amount. The time is now to start reducing our energy use.

It’s winter here in Perth and, because I am at home most days with the baby, I have been using the heating a lot. I’ve also been using the washing machine and dyer almost every day as Miss FF goes through a lot of clothes (babies + food = mess). Its so cold I find myself cooking hot lunches, warming baby food and drinking a lot of hot tea. All these things, in big or small ways, contribute to increasing our electricity bills.

Even though we are renting at the moment, and limited to what we can do to the house to make it more energy efficient, there are so many ways we can reduce our energy use if we change our behaviour. We can switch off lights and appliances, avoid using heating or air conditioning, turn the oven off 5-10 minutes before food is ready (it retains heat long enough to finish cooking), wash full loads and avoid using the dryer as a start.

I’ve drawn up a list of ways to save energy around the house. As I don’t live alone I have to educate/convince/cajole Mr FF and Mstr FF to join me on this, and I fully expect having to shout ‘turn off the lights’ many, many times! I’ll report back in two months how we’re doing.

Having trouble saving energy? Download my free printable now!

 

What do you do to save energy? Share your tips in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Electricity bill fail

Leave a Reply

